Sign-up tool:  Participation, permissions and display

Views:  Different views may be chosen in the drop-down list on the Meetings page, showing meetings over different time spans, meetings for which the user has already signed up, or meetings available for sign-up.  Recurring meetings are shown in the list with a plus sign adjacent to the name, which may be clicked to open the list and show the recurrences.  All are shown thus if the “Expand all recurring meetings” box is checked.

The Meetings table, by default, shows the list of meetings by ascending date and time.  The table may be re-ordered by clicking on a column heading for the item of interest.  Clicking on “Meeting Title,” for instance, shows the list in alphabetical order, with all meetings of the same title, on different dates and times, grouped together.

Viewing and adding participants:  In addition to the voluntary sign-up action taken by participants, a meeting organizer may add participants manually.  To do so, click the “Add Participants” link and select names or groups from the drop-down list.  If you are the Organizer (that is, you created the meeting), you cannot add yourself to the list; other participants will see your name listed as “Organizer” in the Meeting Details.

To see the list of participants who have signed up for a meeting, click its title to reveal the Meeting Details.  Names of those signed up will appear in the Participants column of the timeslots table, adjacent to the time slots they chose.  A red “delete” button and a pencil-and-pad “edit” button, which allows that participant to be replaced with another, appears next to each name.  The appearance of a small blue bubble icon to the right of the name means that the participant has added a comment at the time of sign-up, which can be seen by clicking on that icon.

Permissions:  The set of permissions applies to the use of the Sign-up Tool across the site, not to any particular meeting.  Permissions can be granted, by role,, with an interface for doing so that resembles that of other tools.  The “Permissions” link shows,  for each realm of grouping— (1) site (all members), and (2, 3, ...) group, for each group defined on that site, a labelled button that leads to an authorization matrix.  For groups that do not include the site organizer as a member, the group button is not active in the Permissions settings and the site organizer cannot adjust the settings. 

Only certain permissions in certain contexts are meaningful.  The privilege “create.site” addresses creation of new meetings, so, if that box is checked in the “access” row, representing users with student status, students will have the “Add” link on their Meetings page.  If “create.site” is not checked for the access role, but “create.group” is checked in the “access” row for a site group (defined in Site Info), then student members of that group will have the “Add” link, and be able to create meetings, for that group only.  If groups are defined, the “view” and “attend” permissions must be checked for that group realm, as stated on screen, in order for group members to sign up.  No adjustment will allow the Sign-up button to appear for meeting organizers.  For more details, contact your system administrator.

Listing on the Schedule or Calendar tool :  If you create a meeting without the Schedule tool on the site, but add the Schedule tool later, you can add each meeting individually to the Schedule’s calendar:  In the Sign-Up tool, click on the meeting name, click the “Modify” option at the top, then find and click on the option “Show other default settings.”  That will allow you to choose to publish the meeting to the Schedule.  Repeat for all other meetings that you want on the Schedule.